Mistaken for Active Air Force?

Started by 2ltAlexD, March 19, 2008, 08:43:54 PM

2ltAlexD

Hi there you guys! I heard this will happen. What should you do when this happens? Do you just say well I'm in the Civil Air Patrol which is part of the Air Force?
Des Moines Metro Cadet Squadron

Major Carrales

Say "thank you" on behalf of the US Air Force, explain what CAP is all about.  Ask them if they want to join.
"We have been given the power to change CAP, let's keep the momentum going!"

Major Joe Ely "Sparky" Carrales, CAP
Commander
Coastal Bend Cadet Squadron
SWR-TX-454

JohnKachenmeister

Since in an earlier post you said you were totally blind, you missed a GREAT opportunity to have some fun...

"Yes, I'm a pilot.  I fly the F-117.  They use blind guys to fly the stealth aircraft on the theory that if I can't see them, they can't see me.  Seems to work, I think."
Another former CAP officer

RiverAux

Depends on the situation a little bit, but I agree with Maj C.

mynetdude

LOLz

I have BEEN asked if I was a "pilot" and I would reply "what kind?" because there are different kinds.. USAF pilots and airline pilots.  And I so wanted to reply that I was both, but I declined :P

I do give them something to laugh about for kicks though, they only ask because I have so much grey hair and wearing USAF uniform when I am in regulation for weight... its too funny because I wear hearing aids and can't even get a PPL.  The fun stops when I point out my hearing aids and they go *duh*.

DC

I have been mistaken for AD Air Force, Army (while in BDUs) and and asked if I was an Air Force Academy cadet. I just politely correct them, and tell them a little about CAP. In blues I can somewhat understand the confusion, but in BDUs I just don't get it. The big blue and white CIVIL AIR PATROL displayed on the BDU blose would be a tip off I think.... Not to mention that the Air Force is about the only ones wearing BDUs anymore, and they are beginning to phase them out...

davedove