Involved in anything other than CAP?

Started by brasda91, February 23, 2008, 05:34:42 PM

brasda91

When you stop to think about all the different areas the squadron commander has to be involved in, makes you realize how much time you would have to devote to ensure the squadron runs effectively.

Examples, you have your weekly meeting, financial committee meeting, a meeting to develop your 13 week training schedule, ground team/udf training or aircrew training, meetings with the parents, missions, maybe a staff meeting, and any other meetings your particular unit conducts.

I'm a volunteer firefighter-emt.  I haven't been to a f.d. meeting in over a year.  Part of that is because I have a 16 month old, and I work swing-shift.  My wife has to take care of our son the nights I work and the nights I have CAP.  So the fire dept. has been neglected.

Even with that aside, when I stop and think about how much more I need to be doing in my squadron, I think, I don't even have time for the fire dept.  I don't want to quit the f.d.  I have 12 years devoted to it.

If you're a member of another volunteer organization, how do you split your time equally between, family, church, CAP, and the other organization?
Wade Dillworth, Maj.
Paducah Composite Squadron
www.kywgcap.org/ky011

James Shaw

I am an Assistant den Leader for my 8 year olds Boy Scout  Troup. He is a wolf scout right now. I work a rotating schedule that only allows me to go to 2 meetings a month. Myself and the den leader alternate our nights in charge and support the same schedule. It has worked out pretty good. If a weekend trip comes up such as a Scout campout then I will go if it falls on my weekend off or sometimes take a vacation day. I have 5 weeks of vacation per year and with the rotating schedule I can have a week off if I take 24 hours off.