To study or not to study.

Started by Cautious SM, February 02, 2008, 06:02:33 AM

Cautious SM

I am new in my squadron and I was wondering is it bad to have study sessions at a Squadron meeting? Are study sessions not good use of squadron time? How many people have study sessions at their meetings?

Eclipse

What are you studying?

Despite what some may say here, the unit meeting is supposed to be the primary venue for member training, so studying during a meeting isn't necessarily a bad thing.

"That Others May Zoom"

MIKE

I thought it used to say that achievement/milestone testing were intended for self study... So I looked it up in CAPR 52-16 1-2.  They use the term self-paced study in 1-2. a. (2) for the leadership portion but included in  1-2. b. (2) for aerospace they list both self-paced and group study.

IMHO, I don't agree that study-groups for specific achievement/milestone tests is an effective use of the meeting...  Pre-test mentoring to clear up questions after you have studied at home however...
Mike Johnston

Eclipse

OK, I guess we need further clarification - are we talking about cadets or seniors?

"That Others May Zoom"

DC

Quote from: Eclipse on February 02, 2008, 04:09:00 PM
OK, I guess we need further clarification - are we talking about cadets or seniors?
It is presumable we are talking about cadets, this is the Cadet Programs Management forum...

I think that the textbook studying needs to be up to cadets to do themselves, if they need help, that is where mentoring comes in.

I find that you can pretty much fill meeting time with classes, some different angles to leadership/followership not found in our beloved leadership books, hands on teambuilding, ES, AE, there are tons of things you can do and keep yourselves busy at meetings.

Eclipse

::)  I didn't even pay attention to what forum this was...carry on.   :P

"That Others May Zoom"

jimmydeanno