Fellow CFIs/Checkpilots, doing BFRs for CAP folk?

Started by AlaskanCFI, April 17, 2007, 11:02:32 PM

AlaskanCFI

How many of you brother and sister CFI/Check Pilots get hit up for free BFRs from other CAP members?  How do you handle it?

I do the CFI gig for a living, so one or two free ones did not kill me, at first,  but when word gets out, some folks think that everything should be on the CAP dime, including a new flight reviews.  So far these have been the types that also never fly unless it is on mission or SAR money.

What do you other folks do?  Any squadron policies other than the standard National policy?
Major, Squadron Commander Stan-Eval..Instructor Pilot- Alaska Wing CAP
Retired Alaska Air Guard
Retired State of Alaska Law Dawg, Retired Vol Firefighter and EMT
Ex-Navy, Ex-Army,
Firearms Instructor
Alaskan Tailwheel and Floatplane CFI
http://www.floatplanealaska.com

CadetProgramGuy

I look at it like this.

Several years ago I needed a BFR.  I joined CAP to fly.  I needed to prepare for the Form 5 Ride, so I rode with a CAP CFI knowing full well I needed the BFR as well as the Instruction.

I see no problem with CAP CFI's (or II's) giving BFR's to CAP members.

CadetProgramGuy

Sorry I should have read furthur in your post.  If you are a CFI trying to make a living, then you may just have a problem.

Mandate your "new" CAP pilots to 3 or 5 hours a month of flying CAP aircraft.  If they are unwilling to accept this then tell them to see you at the FBO on Monday morning.

If theyare willing to commit to the Flight Schedle, then they can only carry other CAP members, and you may just end up with the family joining CAP as well.

Trung Si Ma