Air Force Association (AFA)

Started by Blackhawk, September 04, 2013, 04:07:55 PM

Blackhawk

I was wondering if anyone out there was a member of the Air Force Association (AFA) and specifically, if they have offered any kind of benefit to your units. 

Майор Хаткевич

They have the AFA and AFSA awards for cadets that we can buy.

Ned

The AFA is one of the strongest supporters of CAP.  They literally invented CyberPatriot, sponsor cadet awards, provide office space for our legislative guy in the DC area, and work with us closely on many projects.

Brig Gen (Ret) Sandy Schlitt, a former Board Chairman of the AFA, serves on our Board of Governors.  He is active and engaged, and fully committed to CAP.

Because of everthing AFA does for CAP, even as a retired Army officer, I am a proud member of AFA.

Eclipse

The AFA has a strong and valued relationship with CAP, however to the OP's question, I don't believe they provide
much in regards to resources at the unit level, beyond a recruiting contact.   At least that was my experience.

"That Others May Zoom"

ironputts

I am an AFA member and also prior military. Every year I apply for the outstanding cadet of the year (squadron) award through AFA. Every year a local chapter member attends our annual holiday dinner and presents the the cadet. AFA also offers scholarships. From our website:

For many years, the Air Force Association has recognized the significant aerospace contributions of Civil Air Patrol to our nation.  In an effort to demonstrate the esteem AFA holds for the work CAP volunteer members accomplish throughout our country, the AFA provides Aerospace Education grants and awards for CAP's adult, educator, and youth members.  Each partnership program is explained in the bold link for each area below. 

•AFA'S NATIONAL CAP AEROSPACE EDUCATION CADET OF THE YEAR AWARD

•AFA'S CAP UNIT OUTSTANDING CADET OF THE YEAR RECOGNITION

•AFA's CAP UNIT AE GRANT

•AFA'S CAP EDUCATOR MEMBER AE GRANT