Saluting without cover?

Started by spacecommand, October 27, 2010, 07:30:29 PM

spacecommand

The other day I saluted another Senior member who is higher in grade then me, and served in the Navy. 
They didn't have their cover on and they told me I shouldn't have saluted them because they were not covered "that's how it's done in the Navy". (Regardless of the fact that they were not covered) my understanding is that the Navy/Marine corps do not salute when not covered, however the saluting etiquette in the Army / Air Force (and CAP) is different.

My research further sees that AF/Army might salute even in PT gear however the Navy/Marines do not salute in PT gear.

Any case, I'm not an expert at this matter.  Just wondering what your thoughts might be.  Though saluting other CAP members is generally optional I tend to salute anyone in higher grade then me especially when working around cadets. 

Again from my understanding in the Navy they are taught no cover, no salute, however I think the Air Force (and Army) might be different on that matter.

Also if you have any applicable regulations you might be able to cite, that would be great.

tsrup

In the blue-jacket's manual there was a little comic that gave examples of saluting situations and non-saluting situations..

wish I could find it, or if there was an AF version.

Regardless of the above,

If it was outdoors, and you were in uniform and unless it was designated previously as a no-salute zone, then you were in the right.  Navy regulations and procedures have no basis for policy while said senior member is acting as a member of CAP.
All it does is cause a feeling of embarrassment and cause your Squadron commander to raise an eyebrow when you accidentally say "aye sir"....
Paramedic
hang-around.

jimmydeanno

From CAPP 151: Respect on Display
When in uniform, salute officers upon recognition, regardless of what the officer is wearing. For example, a uniformed cadet salutes