Willing to work: Web Apps Needed

Started by ryan.turner, July 31, 2010, 05:34:16 PM

ryan.turner

Good morning!

I'm a new senior member, and I'm looking to help wherever is needed. I'm a college freshman in Electrical Engineering and Computer Science and have been doing web development for about 7 years.

I'm still trying to get settled and understand exactly how CAP is organized and what is where, so I don't really have any ideas as for where voids are, but I'm certain you all can help me there. Does CAP have a centralized application similar to D4H? What about asset management and tracking? Where do you think development time would be best spent on a web application? I've been learning Google Gears' API, so that is something that I could implement into the application as well (off-line capability).

I'm open to all ideas except for your individual squadron's website :P

Eclipse

Yes, CAP has a centralized system for personnel tracking, asset management, mission management, and similar.
We do not have a centralized mission status system, but there are a few systems in place that are trying to be that.
It is a gap, but one not likely filled from the ground level without national approval and cooperation.

As a new member your best bet would be to discuss this locally with your squadron CC.  Most likely the gaps at your
unit are in collaboration, electronic forms, and the local web presence.

None of which should require much development time, but all of which require competent management and planning.

"That Others May Zoom"

ryan.turner

Quote from: Eclipse on July 31, 2010, 05:51:02 PM
Yes, CAP has a centralized system for personnel tracking, asset management, mission management, and similar.
We do not have a centralized mission status system, but there are a few systems in place that are trying to be that.
It is a gap, but one not likely filled from the ground level without national approval and cooperation.