Does your Wing do Fire Patrol??

Started by Smoothice, May 05, 2010, 05:52:26 PM

Smoothice

Our wing does Fire Patrol for our state. Actually, I am one of the crew coordinators. I got a chance to fly as an observer on an actual "mission" put out by the forest service. It was a great opportunity. I got to learn alot about the G1000. I actually spotted a fire off in the distance! We contacted the nearest fire tower via FM radio, but, we learned that the fire was already an approved burn. They thanked us for being so sharp! The G1000 software was already loaded with the route, so really, all we had to do was let the autopilot fly it. I got a laugh out of the fact that the pilot had to keep reminding me that it was my job to keep my eyes glued to the window. That was strange for me. As a pilot, I am trained to Scan outside and fly. Overall, it was a really rewarding flight, knowing we were up there actually making a difference.

RiverAux

The national commanders presentation at the NEC mentioned maybe 3 states that did fire patrols.  Also mentioned flying them for an AFB -- Eglin?  Think there was a Volunteer article about fire patrols last year.

heliodoc

My State CONTRACTS to an FBO for our State fire patrol.

How do I know?  I just finished yesterday for the Spring fire season.  The FBO supplies the ships and the natural resource agency supplies the wildland firefighter / aerial observer usually a 3 month employee or on call...like me.....a forester and a pilot and a CAP member who jumped at the chance for an approx 10.50 / hr job just to get off the unenjoyment roles for a month...

Good to get PAID by the agency(ies) and have me as a professional doing this job.....no benefits, no 401K, no retirement....just the sheeeeer joy of right seating it for a month.