S&W M+P
4 (6.8%)
Wheel Gun
3 (5.1%)
Other
5 (8.5%)

Total Members Voted: 59

isuhawkeye

This has absolutely nothing to do with CAP, but pleas humor me. 

It has become clear that there are a few individuals on this board with the knowledge and experience to dive into this discussion. 

I am a paramedic who has had the opportunity to work in several unique environments.  I have my CCW permit, and am in the market for a new hand gun.  I am currently torn

On one hand my DOD, and DOE co workers tell me to go big or go home.  They swear up and down that .45 is the only way to go, and the 1911 frame is the standard.  As a group that have minimal concern about the 8+1 limitations of the single stack.

On the other hand My LEA, ICE, and other federal type cop friends have mostly graduated to the .40 with a 12 round mag.  They like the velocity of the 40, while maintaining some hit power.  Their argument is that the increased mag capacity is the drive. 

Considering that I want to carry this thing concealed (Im a big guy, and it would be under a blazer most of the time), and occasionally on a tac rig. 

What are your thoughts?

DrJbdm

I'm a police officer, I personally carry a Glock 27 for just the purpose you described. I also carry a glock 23. both are .40 calibre.

If you want performance and accuracy right out of the box it is almost impossible to beat a Glock. Even most experts agree, you just can't beat the performance of a Glock.

Now Glock does make a high capacity .45 as well, both in compact and subcompact models. That may be an option if you are sold on the knock down power of a .45

either way you can't go wrong. If you are going to carry concelled, do yourself a favor a get a weapon that does that job very well. Yes it is possible to carry a compact weapon like the Glock 23 or a 1911 or some other compact duty weapon concelled, but it just isn't going to offer the best ability for that job.

Just my opinion.

Flying Pig