Hemet Mountain Course, CA

Started by Flying Pig, March 04, 2008, 02:57:51 AM

Flying Pig

Anyone planning on attending the mountain course in Hemet, CA in May?

fyrfitrmedic

Does the security force at the big Scientology compound outside Hemet get antsy when overflights take place?
MAJ Tony Rowley CAP
Lansdowne PA USA
"The passion of rescue reveals the highest dynamic of the human soul." -- Kurt Hahn

Flying Pig

HAAAAA...Maybe.  When I was a cop in Hemet, they used to go on full scale red alert when I'd do a stop on Gilman Hot Springs Rd.  Good times.

wingnut

Hey Piggy I thought we had enough training, two weeks in Bishop we became experts ;D

But yes I am thinking of it

SoCalCAPOfficer

I will be there, since my Squadron 59 is co-hosting this event with Sq 40.  It should be a great event, hope many of you make it.  I look forward to meeting many of you at this event.
Daniel L. Hough, Maj, CAP
Commander
Hemet Ryan Sq 59  PCR-CA-458

flynd94

Glad to see that the course is still going to be taught.  Its been a couple of years since CAWG did one.  I wish I could be there to teach the course.  Mountain flying is some of the best flying you can do.  You truly learn what you and, your aircraft can handle.
Keith Stason, Maj, CAP
IC3, AOBD, GBD, PSC, OSC, MP, MO, MS, GTL, GTM3, UDF, MRO
Mission Check Pilot, Check Pilot

Flying Pig

The course was pretty neat.  Lots of performance planning.  It was eye opening to see whether or not your bird can really do what the book says it will. 

Floating Canyons, Canyon 180's, etc.  All good stuff.  I was glad to meet a few CAPTalkers as well.  Hemet has an awesome facility.  I dont know that I have seen a more perfect base and location.  And there were more doughnuts than anyone could have hoped for!

Dont worry Dan......your baby is OK. ;)

SoCalCAPOfficer