Anyone running Linux in their squadron HQ?

Started by JGremlin, April 20, 2009, 05:14:45 PM

JGremlin

I've been involved with CAP for almost a year now and as I'm a computer tech in my day job, I've become one of the main computer gurus in my squadron. As I'm sure most squadrons do, we have a hodge podge of donated equipment in our squadron and most of it ranges in age from 'pretty old' to 'The Smithsonian called and they can't believe you still have one of those and it still (sort of) works.'

In an effort to eek a bit more performance out of the hardware we've got, I decided to install Ubuntu Linux on a few of the boxes. It seems to be able to run a bit faster than XP on the same hardware and since its Linux, malicious infection issues are minimized automatically.

So far the experiment has been going fairly well. When I did the installs, I put icons for Firefox right on the desktop and labelled it Internet so most members just click on that and go. We've had a few issues crop up where you need IE in order to do certain testing on eservices and I've yet to be able to get the machines to play wmv files reliably. But otherwise, most members don't even notice that they aren't using Windows until I tell them.

So I'd like hear from others who might also be doing this in their squadrons. Are you doing it or have you tried it at your squadron? If so, did it work out or were there too many issues? If you're a Linux guru (I am not), would you or would you not install it on the machines in your squadron and why?

I can see some real advantages to using it in a squadron environment but it seems like you could only use it if you also have XP machines available at this point. Comments? Thoughts?

Eclipse

Quote from: JGremlin on April 20, 2009, 05:14:45 PM
I can see some real advantages to using it in a squadron environment but it seems like you could only use it if you also have XP machines available at this point. Comments? Thoughts?