Main Menu

use of "Dr" in title

Started by dogboy, October 24, 2008, 12:06:29 AM

dogboy

I've noticed that Medical Officers use a title like "Major (Dr.) Joan Smith".

I'm a Health Services Officer with a doctorate in public health/ epidemiology. Is it proper for me to use this form of title or is it restricted to medical doctors? How about a dentist? Doctor of Pharmacy?

FW

If you are addressed as "Dr." in your profession, it is proper to add "DR" to your title.    Even if you are not a Health Services officer, adding "Dr." to the title is not wrong, IMO.  We had a Sec. of State who was known as Sec. (Dr.) Kissinger.  On occasion, I've received emails, snail mail, or have been introduced to fellow members as; "Col., Dr.  F.W."  No one ever objected.  However, I don't make an issue of it either way.

IceNine

I can't find any guidance on this, and I'm sure it is a minor technicalty but,

All the chaplains I know are addressed as Chaplain Major lastname, I'm sure there is a precedent for the order in which you put those titles.  Anyone know the real rule
"All of the true things that I am about to tell you are shameless lies"

Book of Bokonon
Chapter 4

Eclipse

I believe that's recognition that the Chaplin role is a higher power than the military one.

"That Others May Zoom"

MIKE

I found this: