At age 61, doctor joins the Navy

Started by dogboy, November 30, 2007, 10:26:18 PM

dogboy

When one of his sons, a Marine, was killed in Iraq, Dr. Bill Krissoff decided to enlist. With help from the White House, he's in uniform and will be stationed near his other son, who's at Camp Pendleton.

<snip>

"I'm just a doctor who wants to help Marines -- I'm not trying to change the world," Krissoff said in a telephone interview. "I'm inspired by both my sons' dedication to service."

Nathan Krissoff, 25, an intelligence officer with the 3rd Reconnaissance Battalion, was killed last Dec. 9 by a roadside bomb while riding in a Humvee outside Fallouja. Hundreds of Marines, soldiers and sailors attended a memorial service in the auditorium at Camp Fallouja.

Even by the mournful standards of such events, the memorial was emotional. Marines hugged one another, and many had tears in their eyes. Officers and enlisted eulogized Krissoff as a natural leader, charismatic but humble.

<snip>

Krissoff concedes a kind of turnabout is at play. "Usually it's the father who tries to lead the sons by example," he said. "In this case, my sons led me."

And what would his son Nathan think of his desire to enlist and deploy to a war zone?

"He'd just say, 'Way to go, Pops,'" said Krissoff, his voice seeming to tremble slightly.

http://www.latimes.com/news/local/la-me-doctor1dec01,0,7221630.story?coll=la-home-center

(free registration may be required)

SoCalCAPOfficer

I wonder if they would be interested in a 63 year old lawyer.
Daniel L. Hough, Maj, CAP
Commander
Hemet Ryan Sq 59  PCR-CA-458

star1151

My first thought was, "With the Navy needing doctors like they do, why on earth would he *enlist*?".  That's what I get for believing what the media writes.

Cobra1597

Maybe there is still hope if I can only afford the surgery (and then recovery time/strength training) for my back after I am 27.
Harrison Ingraham, Capt, CAP
MAWG External Aerospace Education Officer, ADY
Spaatz #1597