Your availability for missions

Started by Stonewall, December 15, 2008, 08:28:37 PM

As a volunteer in CAP, qualified in an ES rating, what is your availability to be called for missions?

24/7 no limits
8 (16%)
Mostly available, can be gone a couple days
29 (58%)
Weekends & Holidays but have to be back to work Monday morning
8 (16%)
I'm a college student so I can go, but my grades may suffer
3 (6%)
I'm qualified but my job is not flexible, nor is my spouse
2 (4%)

Total Members Voted: 50

Stonewall

I'd say I'm more available now than ever before in my life.  With the exception of having 2 small children (4 months and 2 years) and being in the National Guard (one weekend a month), I can make myself available at night, weekends, leave from work and be gone a couple days.

I've seen lots and lots of people with the SAR and FIND ribbon awarded 50 times over, but have only a few years in CAP.  I've been in for going on 22 years so the awards have accumulated through time.  I've even heard people argue over our responsibility to "deploy", as if we'd be negligent in turning down a call from CAP to go look for an ELT.

Just curious.  What's your status?
Serving since 1987.

Duke Dillio

I get 80 hours a year for vacation plus another 36 hours of floating holidays.  In addition, I work variable rotating shifts of 12 hours which gives me a week off every month.  For the most part, I can go whenever I really want to.  I've seen lots of Find and Save ribbons as well but have yet to have been awarded one.

jimmydeanno

I get 4 weeks of PTO, can work remotely if need be and my boss knows what I do (part of why I keep a bunch of CAP stuff in my cube.)

However, my biggest restriction is actually my commute.  I ride an hour each way to work.  I participate in a vanpool - so there are 13 of us on the same van riding back and forth to work, so I can't just leave in the middle of the day if I need to.