Main Menu

Form 5

Started by star1151, October 20, 2007, 11:04:57 PM

star1151

Two questions here....

Since 60-1 is fairly vague on requirements (maneuvers and such) can someone shed some light on what you'll need do on a checkride?

Second, I've flown once in six months so I don't feel capable of taking a checkride now.  If you rent a non-CAP plane to get proficient in, is that rental still tax deductible?  If not before I'm a qualified CAP pilot, what about after?

ricecakecm

You'll complete a "written" test online.  You'll also complete an aircraft questionnaire for the airplane you'll be flying.  This covers V-Speeds, systems questions, and emergency procedures.

As far as the actual Form 5 checkride, it's very similar to an FAA practical test.  There's an oral and a flight.  The flight is conducted using the Form 5 itself as a guide.  The PTS standards you're tested to are for the level of certificate you're exercising.  You can hold a commercial or ATP certificate and test to Private standards, but you'll be prohibited from doing anything in CAP that requires a commercial certificate.

During the oral, the check airman is going to ask you typical oral questions, plus questions about CAP flying knowledge and requirements.

Not sure about the tax questions.  I just give the checkrides. :)

RiverAux

I can't see how you could prove to the IRS that a flight in a private plane while not on CAP orders or for a CAP activity could be shown to be a CAP expense. 

Can you fly in a CAP plane with a CAP instructor pilot to bring you up to speed? 

jayleswo