Form 5 completed, now what?

Started by Nomex Maximus, October 19, 2007, 05:43:30 PM

Nomex Maximus

I completed my form 5 initial checkride and e-services says I am an active CAP pilot, but TMP is still "pending group approval". Can I fly the CAP airplane solo now or do I have to wait for the TMP to be group approved?

???
Nomex Tiberius Maximus
2dLT, MS, MO, TMP and MP-T
an inspiration to all cadets
My Theme Song

Capflyer

You can fly the airplane solo but not on missions. IOW, you can do proficiency flights that you pay for.
Once your TMP is approved on group level it will go to Wing level for approval which doesn't take long.
When the TMP rating shows on your 101 card,  you will be able to fly certain transport missions, high bird and stuff like that.

mdickinson

For those who are wondering, TMP = Transport Mission Pilot.

If you have a current form 5, Flight Review, and medical, and you appear on your wing's list of active pilots, then you can fly any CAP airplane that is the same make & model as the one(s) you've been form-5'd in. (You fly as PIC, not solo; only student pilots can fly "solo.")

Transport Mission Pilot is not a pilot qualification; it is an Emergency Services rating. Lacking an ES rating does not keep you from flying; there are hundreds of CAP pilots who have a form 5 but no ES ratings.

However you cannot fly an airplane to, from, or during a mission until you become a TMP or a SAR/DR Mission Pilot Trainee.

Transport Mission Pilot is an ES qualification that requires only four things: Form 5'd pilot; over 18 years old; at least 100 hrs PIC time and 50 hrs cross-country time; and a General ES card.

By the way, I could not help noticing your signature block.
Quote from: Nomex Maximus on October 19, 2007, 05:43:30 PM
2nd Lieutenant (almost) CAP MIWG
TMP,MO,MS and amateur Podiatrist
It says you are a 2d Lt "almost," then goes on to list your qualifications, including TMP, which you state in your post that you don't have yet.