Main Menu

BEST CAP EXPERIENCE

Started by addo1, August 18, 2007, 02:16:58 PM

addo1

What is your most exciting CAP mission/experience??  I would like to hear about them..
Addison Jaynes, SFO, CAP
Coordinator, Texas Wing International Air Cadet Exchange

National Cadet Advisory Council 2010

JohnKachenmeister

Flight school as a cadet.  Who gets a pilot's license in their summer break between their junior and senior years of high school?

Answer:  Really rich kids and CAP cadets.  Put me down as a "B"
Another former CAP officer

Stonewall

I've had a lot of "best CAP experiences", but I'll pick one small one.  A simple one that made me feel proud of all the decisions I made leading up to this situation and hard work as well...  Trust me; it's simple, but meaningful.

Before I jot something down, having been in since February of 1987, 20 years and a few months, the best, most memorable times I experienced in CAP were between about 1995ish to about 2001ish, then it got good when I became a squadron commander around 2003 until I had to take a serious break in 2005.  Just to sum it up...  :-\

My "best CAP experience":

I think it was November 2000.  In fact, it may have been Veterans Day, not sure.  There was a plane missing that was supposed to fly from Maryland to North Carolina, or somewhere along that route.  Maryland, National Capital, Virginia, North Carolina and I think maybe West Virginia wings were all called out and given locations along the possible route to search.