Main Menu

Worth it?

Started by emttobe, August 16, 2007, 05:19:21 PM

emttobe

Sorry for the long post, bit of background before I get to my real question.

I'm a college aged teacher-in-training who (as you can tell by my name) will soon complete
my EMT-B training. While I started the training partly because it seemed like something good
to know and partly as a resume boost (if all the other teacher applicants have a First Aid
qualification at most, having and EMT-B would put me ahead), I'm now thinking I'd like to
use it to volunteer to help folks, making a long term commitment to an organization or
group.

I'd narrowed down my choices to the local Volunteer Fire Department when a friend, who knew
the kind of thing I was searching for, told me about CAP.

Me: "What's that?"
Him: "Not sure, some kind of Search and Rescue group. Read an article about them last week."
Me: "Cool, thanks for the tip."

The article, of course, was one of the many detailing how the head of your group has been
suspended for sending someone else to take a test. Not an auspicious introduction, but hey,
just because the head's a crook doesn't mean they don't do good work.

So, I do a Google search and get the main page.

Me: "Wow, a .gov address? These folks are serious. Air Force Axillary? Didn't know it had
one. Military uniforms and an AFJROTC-like cadet program? Neat. Lots of other missions
besides SAR? This looks AWESOME!"

It seemed perfect. Besides the above, the biggest point in its favor over the VFD is that
CAP is national, if I ever move I can join another unit with my rank and qualifications
intact, instead of spending another year as a pleb at a new Department.

Anyway, after reading the PR I want to see what people thought about it. Wikipedia? Got a
featured article. UrbanDictionary? Got some haters on there, but I take Taekwondo and can
deal with elitists from another system bashing mine. YouTube? Many videos, including slick