Starting New Units for Growth & Recruiting

Started by Ed Bos, August 03, 2016, 06:57:16 PM

Ed Bos

Hello CAPTALK,

Some of  you may know me, and some may not, but I'm interested in getting some feedback for a plan I'm undertaking.

My day job is working as a professional for the Boy Scouts of America in Portland, OR. "Oh no! We don't want to be anything like THEM..." or so I've seen written on here in several threads over the past few years.

Well, one of the things the BSA does well is maintaining a growth-oriented mindset. Supporting this notion, in my council alone (smaller than the geographic area of most nearby wings) the membership of BSA programs is 77% of all CAP cadets everywhere. (screen captures attached). This tells me that there's some opportunity for growth.

With the approval of the Oregon Wing Commander and the endorsement in CAPR 52-16, I'm going to attempt to start a few CAP Squadrons/Explorer Posts in communities that have both a population base to support membership, as well as some local anchor for a unit (such as an airport with no CAP presence).

I'd like to get some ideas from the folks on CAPTALK, about what they would want to see when a new unit is being started from scratch in a community. What I would prefer is positive and constructive criticism. This plan is going to move forward, and I want it to be successful. Contributions along the lines of "that's stupid and it'll never work" need not be included. There are plenty of naysayers that don't need to be parroted by you fine people.

The plan is over the course of 6 weeks:

1) Advertise to the local schools and general aviation community that there will be an open house for the new unit;
2) Host an open house that includes:
  a) Hands-on Aerospace Education activities (drone flying)
  b) Hands-on Drill & Ceremonies instruction (stationary drill)
  c) Hands-on SAR instruction (DF/orienteering)
  d) Aircraft orientation (checking out a CAP plane)