Squadron Calendar Formats

Started by Pylon, May 21, 2007, 05:58:01 PM

Pylon

I've been working with my Squadron Activities Officer and Commander to come up with a better squadron calendar format.  We participate in many events at units outside of our own (hosted by other units, group, wing, etc.), in addition to squadron activities.   The Squadron Activities Officer regularly updates the calendar and passes out copies about every other week.  I also occassionally mail home the calendars to the parents.

However, I am having issues coming up with a good, easy-to-read (and easy-to-maintain) format for the calendar that can relay several important facts for each event: Date, times, location, host unit, forms needed, due date for sign-up/paperwork, cost, POC, and additional information/description.

I've attached a version I've been tinkering with, but I still don't like it.  I'm a graphics designer and I could (and have) come up with nifty versions in InDesign, but they're not easy for other people to maintain.

I was hoping perhaps some of you could share your squadron calendar formats and what's worked, what hasn't worked, and perhaps post samples?  (As always, you can attach Word docs, as well as PDFs and zip files directly to your posts).

Thanks all.
Michael F. Kieloch, Maj, CAP

LtCol White

Take a look at the link on here. This is to the LAWG calendar that we keep on the website. Works pretty well for us. If your SQ has a website, this would be the easy way to do it. See if this helps.

http://www.lawgcap.org/calendar.htm
LtCol David P. White CAP   
HQ LAWG

Admiral, Great Navy of the State of Nebraska

Diplomacy - The ability to tell someone to "Go to hell" and have them look forward to making the trip.

Lancer

Mike,

I'm a big fan of http://calendar.google.com. You can integrate it right into your unit's website, easy to read, maintain, etc. And for those without internet access, you can still print out an easy to read version of it.

Check it out.