Squadrons with access to GA-8s

Started by themainmane, April 07, 2016, 01:39:18 PM

themainmane

How many GA-8s does CAP have? I'm looking to transfer squadrons, and I was wondering which squadrons have access to the Airvan? I'm a Mission Pilot, and would love to have the opportunity to fly one of them.
The master of all that isn't.

Eclipse

Mine does - but only because the wing recently got one and we're in reasonable proximity to Wing HQ.

16 as of 2014.  I believe at one time there were 18 in the fleet.

"That Others May Zoom"

FW

GA-8 aircraft were purchased for the Archer program. One aircraft per region plus one for NHQ was authorized.  I don't think any more were bought.  Every CAP pilot should have the opportunity to fly one... It will make you appreciate the Cessna >:D

Eclipse

2008 Report to Congress, Page 3:
http://www.capmembers.com/media/cms/2008_4EBF9170D4D9A.pdf

"CAP performs these missions in the air by relying upon 550 general aviation aircraft, the largest fleet of
single-engine aircraft in the nation, 118 of which are equipped with Garmin glass-cockpit technology. In addition,
the fleet's 16 Gippsland Airvans feature airborne real-time cueing hyperspectral imaging reconnaissance
systems (ARCHER). Many also are equipped with digital emergency radio direction finder equipment essential
for search and rescue operations. "

"That Others May Zoom"

sardak

There are still 16 GA-8s in the CAP fleet. If one is interested, they can go into WMIRS to find out where they are.

Mike

A.Member

Quote from: FW on April 07, 2016, 02:19:29 PM
Every CAP pilot should have the opportunity to fly one... It will make you appreciate the Cessna >:D
Strong concur!  The GA-8 pretty much sucks; performance is very lackluster.  We should sell them.  The 182 is significantly better in almost every way.  The only thing the GA-8 can do is haul a couple more people, but since we're not in the transport business that doesn't much matter.