Wing Conference: To go or not to go?

Started by Stonewall, March 16, 2013, 12:12:24 AM

Stonewall

Wing Conference: To go or not to go?

As a cadet (1987 - 1991) I never attended a wing conference. In fact, I'm not sure if I had ever heard of one, let alone attend one. In 26 years, I've attended 3 wing conferences, 1 region conference, and 1 national conference. Just this past weekend I attended the Florida Wing (FLWG) conference in Orlando and had a blast! This year, I decided to exclusively attend the cadet seminars. After all, I'm a cadet programs officer.

Seminars I attended:

• Blue to Gray - making the transition from cadet to senior (this was taught by newly minted senior members who had been cadets)
  • Emergency Services - cadets getting involved with ES, mostly ground operations since you have to be 18 to fly.
  • Professionalism in Uniform - faux pas and the truth about proper uniform wear.
  • Mary Feik briefing - by Colonel Mary Feik. I highly recommend this if you get the chance.
  • Cadet Bowl - not sure if that's what it's called anymore, but the team knowledge competition; you get it.
All were very impressive seminars with a lot of attendance. My guess is that there were between 75 and 100 cadets present; a great showing if you ask me. In all, there were almost 400 attendees at the conference.

A few observations:

- Uniforms: For the most part, pretty good. But I noticed a large number of ribbons out of sequence, to include a rack that was completely upside down, with a single ribbon on top bottom. Remember, you don't have to wear ribbons. So if yours are dirty or frayed, opt out of wearing them. When you're attending a wing function where the wing and region commander, as well as honored guests, will be present, you may want to consider a haircut.