Teaching ES

Started by phillybiker, August 17, 2012, 03:31:27 AM

phillybiker

Hello all. I have been teaching ES for many years now. Both in CAP and the private sector. I try to keep things active in class to keep the students interested and thinking so that the subject matter sticks with them.
However I have been teaching the same classes for so long to me it is getting stale. I am still covering the required subject matter for all GTM qualifications and then some. However to me, I feel like a broken record.
So what I'm asking for here is examples of things you have done teaching cadets GTM 3,2,1 skills that have recieved high praise. A way you may have taught something and every student picked it up right away. Even some Cadet safe one liners so I'm not always saying the same thing over and over.
I'm not burnt out, I enjoy the classes and teaching cadets, but this is a huge organization, and there have got to be other instructors out there who have taught GTM subject matter differently, or better. I just want to give the best possible class so my students learn and retain the information and the best way to do that is with keeping thier attention and repeating the information, without sounding like a broken record.

Thank you.

lordmonar

Try this........Teach other instructors.

When I was a CPR instructor for the ARC.....I did about 5 classes a month SFA&CPR.......after a year I was burnt.....so I moved up to be an IT (Instructor Trainer).  Keeps you in the game and but is not as often and you can spend time on polishing the skills instead of just teaching them.

I Know CAP does not have an IT position......but that does not mean you can't have your own Instructor Course designed to pass on your instructor skills and get more ES instructors out there.
PATRICK M. HARRIS, SMSgt, CAP

Walkman