WMIRS on your Phone

Started by JeffDG, June 07, 2011, 06:20:55 PM

JeffDG

Everyone,

I know there are people out here who can do this! 

Me, I'm an IT Project Manager, so I think in terms of requirements and resources...and I'd like to kick off a volunteer effort to make this happen.  I need some help with the coding however!

So...I'd like to gather our code-minded members, along with our operators to build this...I need the coders to make this a reality, and the operators to tell us what they need.

Come to:  http://groups.google.com/group/mobile-wmirs and sign up to the discussion!

To be clear, I'm not looking to redevelop WMIRS, only create a full-featured mobile-friendly front-end.  I know we'll need some assistance from NHQ with the interfacing with WMIRS, but we need to determine what we need before we can ask!

I'd like to see a full-featured, rich interface, application that would let us do all the WMIRS stuff on a mobile platform...here's my list:
-Be able to Add, Edit and Close sorties (both ground and air)
-Be able to perform Flight Release (eFlightRelease)
-Be able to use the camera and directly upload receipts to sorties
-Be able to tap a button in the plane to record (and transfer to
WMIRS) actual time of departure
-Be able to view release status of a sortie (so I can confirm if my
flight is released)
-Search
  -Find all sorties on a mission
  -Find all sorties for a CAPID (so find all "my" sorties)
  -Find all "open" sorties (with the by CAPID) for a mission

And of course:
-A hidden screen where you get to fling birds at Triangle Thingies  >:D

Eclipse

Doesn't it work on the browser already?

"That Others May Zoom"

JeffDG

A rather crippled version.

I'm talking about a native application taking advantage of what the phones can do.

Eclipse

Well, wouldn't WMIRS need to have a public API then?

My impression is that WMIRS is some cobbled-together home-grown system by a private developer.

"That Others May Zoom"

JeffDG