Main Menu

5.11 Series Pants

Started by Tubacap, December 16, 2007, 11:10:27 PM

Tubacap

Okay, I am notorious for absolutely destroying pants.  My wife makes fun of me routinely because of how quickly I go through pants that are supposedly indestructable. 

My common ailments are: pen marks, oil stains, and ripping from small metal objects.  My profession is as a band director that works a lot with instrument repair and repairing things on our stage.

I have heard many comments about how well built 5.11 pants are, so I am soliciting feedback as to whether this is durable enough to go through the workday and professional enough to wear with a dress shirt or polo.

Thoughts?

Mods feel free to move this to wherever you please.
William Schlosser, Major CAP
NER-PA-001

jb512

Very good pants and worth the money.  We get them issued to us at work as uniform pants with their polo shirt.

Lots of pockets too.

fyrfitrmedic

I wear 5.11s and khakis from Cabelas when I'm teaching; I'm happy with both for staying intact and professional-looking even in some of our messier practical labs.
MAJ Tony Rowley CAP
Lansdowne PA USA
"The passion of rescue reveals the highest dynamic of the human soul." -- Kurt Hahn

isuhawkeye

BEST PANTS ON THE MARKET!!!!

I wear them as a paramedic, and fire fighter.  Since I also do a lot of office/management work I dress them up and can pull off a jacket and tie.

you just have to remember that they are cargo pants

Stonewall

+1 on 5.11s.

However, I just saw Blackhawk's  "5.11 style" pants this weekend and I think I like them better than 5.11.  Only one way to find out for sure.
Serving since 1987.

IceNine

The short answer is yes they are both.

I am an Industrial Ag Electrician, I work in an environment where I am constantly subjected to sharp metal corners, little pieces of stuff that snags and such.

I have been known to completely tear a pair of pants up in a matter of a couple days.