Proper Motorola Astro Saber P25 programming parameters for CAP use

Started by whsmith, July 21, 2013, 08:28:23 PM

whsmith

I am a Group Communications Officer (and Amateur Radio Operator), and would like to program some recently acquired Motorola Astro Saber III radios for P25 use, in addition to analog.  I have received the list of frequencies and associated NAC codes (under NDA from my Wing DC). 

What I am seeking are the correct settings for the considerable number of additional parameters in the "Astro" menu of the Motorola CPS programming software.  This doesn't seem to be documented anywhere.  My Wing Comm's resources only have the frequencies and NAC codes, but no programming documentation for Motorola radios.  I have tried searching this forum, and "Google" searching. 

Can someone point me in the right direction, via this forum or email?   Thanks!
Wayne Smith
Captain, CAP
Communications Officer
Long Island Group HQ
Long Island MacArthur Airport (ISP)

Brad

Brad Lee
Maj, CAP
Assistant Deputy Chief of Staff, Communications
Mid-Atlantic Region
K4RMN

whsmith

CPS R05.03.00

Conventional Personality configurations for each channel - Need required / recommended CAP settings for the configuration screens called "Astro", "Astro Call" and "Astro Talk Group Options."

I have programmed one radio already and it is working OK on two of the P25 channels.  I just want to optimize the configuration.
Wayne Smith
Captain, CAP
Communications Officer
Long Island Group HQ

Brad

Here's the CPS manual: http://w7evl.com/pdf/xts3000r.pdf

The options you mention relate to trunked systems or systems configured with selective calling. CAP doesn't use that, so just follow the instructions in Section 2.
Brad Lee
Maj, CAP
Mid-Atlantic Region
K4RMN

whsmith

Thanks much for the documentation. This will be very helpful. 

However, Section 2 does not detail any of the option settings (non-trunking) for P25 mode or than the NAC code.