Meritorious Unit Commendation [US Navy] earned for Civilian Service

Started by AfroPhoenix, January 08, 2022, 01:28:45 AM

AfroPhoenix

Greetings, all.

I work as an engineer for my day job at the Puget Sound Naval Shipyard. The Navy awarded the Meritorious Unit Commendation to the yard back in 2019. [full story] At the time, I did not put much thought into it - we each got a MUC lapel pin, and that was it. Recently, I started considering whether the regs allow for me to wear the MUC ribbon on my class B.

The major concern is, I work as a civilian employee of the Navy - I am not a sailor. The shipyard's commander, a Navy O-6, is a higher-level manager in my chain of command, but my job is a typical 9-5 engineering office job.
The general allowance for CAP members to wear past military decorations seem to imply that you earned those decorations in past military service, not civilian service. I am looking for confirmation, one way or the other, on the wear of this ribbon.

My research so far:

Quote from: CAPR 39-111.2.2. US Awards. Federal awards awarded by the competent authority may be worn on USAF-style uniforms in accordance with instructions contained in AFI 36-2903. National Guard awards will not be worn.
The text as-written seems to offer a wide berth - "federal awards," with no specific text on whether the award was earned as a civilian or serviceman.

Quote from: AFI 36-290310.3. Non-Air Force Service Awards. ANG members wear state decorations when serving in state status, but not while on federal active duty.
   10.3.1. Wear other military service department awards not included in paragraph 12.5 below in the order the
   awarding Service prescribes.
From what I can read, the Air Force wrote nothing explicit concerning awards from civil service vs. military service.

Quote from: U.S. Navy Uniform RegulationsCHAPTER 5 - IDENTIFICATION BADGES/AWARDS/INSIGNIA

SECTION 3 - AWARDS

PP. 5312 RIBBONS.