Womens New Service Dress Coat

Started by enaud, March 25, 2015, 11:40:20 PM

enaud

A CAP father here.  Do any Females know how to attach the Cadet Office shoulder boards to the new female service dress coat with out the Epaulettes.  Thanks.

Plane

The easiest option here would be to sew Velcro on the shoulders conservatively so it doesn't show under the boards.  My coat has epaulets, but I had to sew it on due to the adhesive on the Velcro coming loose, so I assume it'd be worse without epaulets.  Alternatively, you could attach a small strip of Velcro near the seam of the shoulder, and sew on an appropriately sized snap button on the shoulder, as the new shoulder boards come with Velcro and a "female" button on them.  Depending on the price, I'd recommend getting this done professionally, but you could do it yourself if you feel comfortable.
C/2d Lt Matt Claar
Mitchell Award #65121

enaud

Abby.L

+1 on the Velcro. When I was a cadet officer, I did exactly what was described above: Velcro sewn onto the coat. Be aware that the residue is largely there forever, or at least for multiple dry-cleaning sessions, if anything happens to where she donates it or can use it elsewhere. So I would just sew it and bypass the adhesive.
Capt Abby R. Lockling
SSgt(Sep) USAF, 41ECS
Charlie flight, NBB 2013

SarDragon

The original shoulder boards came with little round dressmaker snaps. Yu might investigate converting to those. When correctly positioned, they are unseen.

http://www.homesew.com/product5300.html
Dave Bowles
Maj, CAP
AT1, USN Retired
50 Year Member
Mitchell Award (unnumbered)
C/WO, CAP, Ret

NIN

Those dressmaker snaps were a pain. I *hated* those things.

+100 on the velcro, however. Fuzzy (loop) side on the uniform, hook side on the boards.  I do that for all my cadet officers when I have the sewing machine at the unit.  I use a strip of the 2" wide, about 80% of the length of the board. Works awesome.
Darin Ninness, Col, CAP
I have no responsibilities whatsoever