Navy Blue Flight Suit -- Vanguard vs FlightSuits

Started by riffraff, November 08, 2007, 07:11:50 PM

riffraff

Does anyone know the quality of the navy blue nomex flights suits at Vanguard?  I was an EMS pilot in a past life and still have my navy blue nomex suit. I was intending to wear it for CAP and was curious if it's comparable to the one Vanguard offers? Nobody in my unit has one.

My ex-EMS suit is an FSL-27/P by FlightSuits (www.flightsuits.com). It's a clone of the CWU-27/P USAF suit except for being made in navy blue instead of sage. Quality is excellent and color matches the dark blue BDU uniform.

SJFedor

Looks like it'd be fine, as long as you don't have the reflective striping that most HEMS companies have on it  ;D

I've only ever seen 1 of the nomex blue flight suits, and honestly, they look pretty nice. The person that was wearing it didn't need to be (could have worn the AF one) but wore the blue, and had the navy blue embroidered grade on it. Looked really sharp.

Steven Fedor, NREMT-P
Master Ambulance Driver
Former Capt, MP, MCPE, MO, MS, GTL, and various other 3-and-4 letter combinations
NESA MAS Instructor, 2008-2010 (#479)

pixelwonk

Word of warning...

The Navy Blue non-nomex flight suit referred to as the "Utility coverall" that Vanguard sells is not what's depicted in the Uniform manual.
CAPM39-1 shows what looks to be a garment identical to the navy blue flight suit.

If anybody can recall the $30 first iteration of the utility suit, it had no flap over the pocket, velcro in the wrong places, a weird collar unlike that of a flightsuit, and worst of all, it wore terrible.
"Utility suit 2.0," first put out by CAPMart, promised that was changed to a better one, and they upped the price to 40 clams.

Yeah, so I ordered one almost two months ago.  Got it after being backordered for a month.  Do you think I received the new and improved navy blue utility suit pictured on CAPM39-1 AND Vanguard's website?
Not only no, but hell no.