I'm new to Honour Guard

Started by wjpappenfus, February 09, 2013, 04:26:13 PM

wjpappenfus

So my squadron commander made me an honour guard commander... I don't know anything about it... I've done a lot of research on the uniform and drill and stuff but I can't find anywhere whether we compete or not and what we should be focusing on specifically if we do compete. Thanks to whoever replies! I can use all the help I can get :)

C/MSgt Pappenfus
AZ Wing, Civil Air Patrol

Eclipse

There are no Honor Guard Competitions (outside the HGA, which is currently on "pause" while Regional equivalents are implemented).

The competitions are for Color Guard and Drill team.

Honor Guards generally serve at solemn occasions where precision and decorum is critical to respecting the event.

"That Others May Zoom"

wjpappenfus

Ok, thank you. This helps greatly :)

HGjunkie

http://captalk.net/index.php?topic=14401.msg260178#msg260178

No competitions, nada. Your sole duty as a guardsman is to pay full respect to the Military, US Flag, and your uniform.
Some updating needs to be done with my old post, since NHGA is not an activity at the moment, however finding local cadets or senior members who have previously gone is going to be your best bet.

Dig through CAPM 52-8, that's the main resource for Honor Guard.
••• retired
2d Lt USAF

PHall

For the OP, did your Squadron Commander appoint you to a Color Guard or an Honor Guard? Many people confuse the two.

As was said above, Honor Guards don't compete, but Color Guards do. Color Guards compete at the National Cadet Competition.

wjpappenfus

I'm the Honour Guard commander but the new Colour Guard commander is in the same situation as I am. We're both pretty new to this. We're training our teams together

HGjunkie

Quote from: wjpappenfus on February 09, 2013, 09:02:15 PM