Rank insignia on the service coat

Started by brent.teal, June 14, 2013, 07:59:28 PM

brent.teal

So we got a bit off topic on the ABU thread regarding rank insignia on the service coat.  Some believe that the grey epaulets don't look quite right on the class A service coat.  I'm one of them.  I had mentioned in the previous threat that I was one of the few that thought the maroon epaulets seemed to be a better match color wise, Dark maroon with dark blue vs light grey with dark blue. 

So possible options anyone? 

Someone mentioned changing the rank insignia itself to be a bit more distinctive, as the CG aux does.  That made me think of how our BDU's look.  Perhaps something a bit nicer looking, than the BDU sew on but the same concept sewn on the epaulets of the coat. 

Brent Teal, Captain. CAP
NER-PA-102 Deputy Commander, Communications officer, or whatever else needs doing.

Shuman 14

Well as the newbie here and as the outsider looking in I agree that the grey epaulets do look a little off and I can see how some CAP members might be put off by them and how it could feel like a "mass punishment" for an offense committed over twenty years ago.

When I was in HS I can vaguely remember CAP Officers wearing the letters "C.A.P." in place of the letters "U.S." on the tunic lapels and a different nametag, but otherwise they looked exactly like an USAF Officer.

There is Good, and Bad, in that.

One Team - One Fight, with a common uniform and a common look is the good thing.

Being confused for an USAF Officer is the bad.

Both are subject to abuse by unprofessional CAP members trolling for salutes.

Maybe you could take an example from the USCGAux on their office insignia.