Just Starting in Emergency Services

Started by CAP428, November 05, 2006, 01:39:29 AM

CAP428

I've been in CAP a few months now and want to start getting qualified for ES.  The thing is, each time I ask my chain of command how to go about it, all I get is "Take the tests online."

Well, that's fine, but what am I supposed to do, take the test and just hope I guessed the right answer?

I looked at an old topic similar to this one here on CAPTalk, "How do I get qualified in ES?" but I'm still confused.  I can't figure out what texts I should read very first.  When I say I'm starting out, I literally mean I have no ES experience to date through CAP.

So, somebody posted this link in the other thread:  http://group22.net/es/esupdates.html    but I have no clue as to what I'm supposed to do.

Can anyone help?  Thank you.

Camas

You'll need to login to e-services (you should have set up an account with them by now) and then off to the leftside go to CAP online exams.  Once you've opened up that page go to the Emergency Service Online Examination.  The two tests you'll want to complete right away are the two parts of the CAPT 116 which includes GES and ICS100 training.  You'll also want to check out the three parts of the CAPT 117; which parts you test on will depend on what mission tasks you wish to participate.  Check with your ES officer or unit commander.  You can wait on the SET tests but you'll want to do those in time as well.  Study - and get to know - CAPR 60-3.  This'll give you the resources to complete the CAPF 116 tests.  Good luck to you.

DeputyDog

There is a powerpoint presentation available for the GES on the test site. I'm not going to post the link for it on here (might get in trouble with OPSEC and all that). But it should point you in the right direction.

ELTHunter

There is a lot of training material located here:

http://www.cap.gov/visitors/members/operations/