Bandit Operators on CAP HF Frequencies!!!!

Started by Jerry, April 12, 2006, 12:49:02 AM

Jerry

There are unauthorized operators engaging is "chicken band" type chatter and also using VERY salty language. >:( This is occuring at night and the frequency is Sierra Alpha. It has been reported thru channels. If you have frequency-agile equipment, their center frequency is .25 above our frequency.  Give a listen and see if you happen to hear any clues as to their whereabouts!  They are, from what I can tell, American and may be either land-based (chicken band "freebanders" or HF pirates?) or American fishing boats.  They are awfully strong to be maritime mobile, however. ???

Jerry

Hammer

I have no knowledge of this, but what's going on?  It sounds like a prank.

thefischNX01

I remember seeing a CAP radio up for auction on ebay once...don't know if that has anything to do with it tho...
Capt. Colin Fischer, CAP
Deputy Commander for Cadets
Easton Composite Sqdn
Maryland Wing
http://whats-a-flight-officer.blogspot.com/

BillB

There is (or was) two HW-18's listed on eBay. They were there as late as Sunday. They listed what CAP frequency crystals were installed. Power supply was not included.
Gil Robb Wilson # 19
Gil Robb Wilson # 104

Al Sayre

Back in the old days, when CB radio's had crystals, you could take a set of channel 10 crystals and reverse them to get on the CAP 26 MHz frequency...  I just recently came back into CAP, and I'm not sure if we still use that frequency or not, but there used to be a regular problem with CB nuts who wanted a "private frequency" doing things like that and interfering with CAP Nets etc..
Lt Col Al Sayre
MS Wing Staff Dude
Admiral, Great Navy of the State of Nebraska
GRW #2787

SarDragon

The freq still belongs to CAP, but its use appears to have been pretty much abandoned, particularly because it's almost impossible to find NTIA compliant equipment in that band.