Main Menu

Cadet Transfer

Started by Nikos, June 05, 2022, 08:57:35 PM

Nikos

I have a Cadet Master Sergeant who wants to transfer to another Squadron.  The Squadron Commander says he has to make 3 visits to the new Squadron before the transfer is approved.  I can't find the correct regulation regarding Cadet transfers to find out if this is correct.  I am new to the active CAP world, if someone could point me to the regulation it would be very helpful.  Thanks.

Eclipse

There is no such requirement for cadets or adults and membership committee is only
for new members. This falls into a CC's prerogative, though.

Technically any member can transfer to any unit they want, simply by asking (barring pending
disciplinary actions).

CAPR 39-2, Page 5-6.
https://www.gocivilairpatrol.com/media/cms/R039_002_A74FDA9552C2D.pdf

"Transfer of Membership. Members may transfer from one unit to another as long as they
are members in good standing in their current unit of assignment. Members may not transfer to
preclude an adverse action or when placed in suspended status. Individuals who misrepresent
their status in order to transfer may be subject to membership termination action as outlined
in CAPR 35-3, Membership Termination.

1.11.1. A member who moves from one locality to another may transfer to another unit in
the new community. A member may also transfer from one unit to another in the same locality
upon approval of the unit commanders concerned. If approved by one, but disapproved by the
other, the request will be forwarded to the commander at the next higher echelon for decision.
If disapproved by both unit commanders, the transfer will be denied.

1.11.4.1. When a member transfers to another unit, the gaining unit will normally initiate
the transfer through the online transfer application. Once the gaining commander has approved
the transfer action the member's record will immediately be updated to reflect the new unit of