Senior Members at the Squadron Meeting--- What do they do???

Started by SM, February 02, 2016, 12:43:41 AM

SM

Hello everyone,

First, this is my first time posting here, though as my label says I have been lurking for quite some time.  I have an issue I would like to hear others opinions on. This being what do senior members do at squadron meetings?

So to start from the beginning...

I was a cadet for many years.  After crossing to the dark side at 21(which, by calling it the dark side, is I guess an ominous foreshadowing of my view and experience dealing with senior members...), I was handed the New Horizons pamphlet. In which it specifically says to stay away from the cadet program for at least a year to separate ones self from your former cadet ties and establish yourself as a senior member.  Which makes sense.  So, I began to go to meetings and sit with the seniors.  And I was bored out of my mind...  The squadron I was with basically just sat around and sometimes did stuff with cadets or taught lessons but the majority of the meeting would be just sitting around gossiping or whatnot...  I don't really like to gossip so I stopped going to meetings...  I ended up transferring to the group level and becoming the finance officer and assistant transportation officer...