Question concerning CAP Pilots aged 17

Started by YankeeIntrepid, March 25, 2015, 10:36:05 PM

YankeeIntrepid

Hello,

I am new to CAPTalk, so please be kind if I do something wrong.  Now to the question:

What can a 17 year old CAP Pilot with a PPL do?

Thank You,

YankeeIntrepid

Huey Driver

From the way you phrased it, I'm assuming that we're talking about airplanes and you've already passed your Form 5.

At age 17, you can't do much, as you're limited to the rating of VFR Pilot. Until you turn 18, you aren't eligible for Transport Mission Pilot, Mission Pilot, or any other of those ratings.

As a plain 'ole 17 y/o cadet VFR Pilot, you can only fly "C" Corporate or self-funded missions. I believe that they cannot operations-related, either. So that basically means that you can fly C7, C8, C12, and C16 missions.

I'm fully expecting some disagreements and other interpretations on this matter, however.
With malice toward none, with charity for all, with firmness in the right...

YankeeIntrepid

JerseyCadet,

I appreciate your answer.  That is just the information I needed to know.  I will be applying to the USAFA next year and would like to use my license to do something substantial and meaningful with the small window I have left before I hopefully go off to USAFA Basic or another college.  How could I use my current limited abilities to make a difference in or out of CAP?

Thank You,

YankeeIntrepid

JeffDG

17 yo can do vfr/ifr pilot (can even train for your IFR as a cadet).  Instrument Rating is incredibly helpful for life...if you can find a CAP instructor to do it with you, that's a great use of your time, and a really cost-effective way to do it.

Once you're 18, you could do your Commercial/CFI and use that to become an ORide pilot.

Huey Driver