Prospective Member...with questions (go figure!)

Started by BigMojo, September 16, 2007, 12:22:35 AM

BigMojo

Hi Everyone...Since this is my first post, I guess I need to buy a round for everyone (N/A's for those flying of course!)

I was recently "made aware" of the CAP by my girlfriend's father who is AF Retired, and after reading a lot on here I fully understand the comments about "The best kept secret in the country". I come from an aviation background, putting many hours in, in the right seat of a 182, and in my hanging around the airport  I just thought CAP was for Cadets, and only had a few adult members to lead them. I must say I was pleasantly surprised when I read more and found out about all the opportunities for adults.

My question is this...

I'm a professional photographer by trade, photojournalism, corporate, sports, etc. I have a bachelors' in photography and business and a masters in Marketing. I have done SAR work with a private, volunteer group in the past and was the "mission photographer" which more often than not meant time in the right seat of another member's 172, conducting searches, and photographing finds (noting Lat/Lon, relaying info to ground teams via VHF, etc...) So, I'm guessing these skills are of use to CAP, and the local squadron has expressed interest, but what should I expect? I've read that other professional vocations lead to advanced rank upon completion of Level I, would this be the case for me? The materials I read said that advanced promotion is for people with "mission related skills" bu only mentions, Pilots, A&P's, Teachers, Medical Pros, Accountants, and Legal folks...