UPS A300 Crash - Birmingham

Started by a2capt, August 14, 2013, 06:44:53 PM

a2capt

QuoteWitness Peter Torres, a Civil Air Patrol member who said he is a former airline mechanic, said he thought he heard what sounded like a backfire from the jet's engines as the plane passed overhead. He rushed to his window."I saw the flash," of an apparent explosion, he said, followed by a "boom" that shook his home.
With that, and the other comments in the article, it sounds like it was too low and unable to maintain an approach to the endzone. Though nothing with ATC indicates a problem. :(

http://www.cnn.com/2013/08/14/us/alabama-cargo-plane-crash/index.html

The NTSB will figure it out.

Brad

Brad Lee
Maj, CAP
Assistant Deputy Chief of Staff, Communications
Mid-Atlantic Region
K4RMN

stillamarine

As a Birmingham Police officer I'll just comment on the location. It was about a mile maybe from the airport in a field that the airport owns. Luckily no houses hit. I did not go to the scene. It is not the first accident we have has in this area. Weather was severely overcast. I'd be very interested in seeing the NTSB report when it comes out.
Tim Gardiner, 1st LT, CAP

USMC AD 1996-2001
USMCR    2001-2005  Admiral, Great State of Nebraska Navy  MS, MO, UDF
tim.gardiner@gmail.com

stillamarine

What amuses me is that flight aware shows the flight as arrived.....about a little short.
Tim Gardiner, 1st LT, CAP

USMC AD 1996-2001
USMCR    2001-2005  Admiral, Great State of Nebraska Navy  MS, MO, UDF
tim.gardiner@gmail.com

Brad

Flightaware assumes a lot of their data I've found.
Brad Lee
Maj, CAP
Assistant Deputy Chief of Staff, Communications
Mid-Atlantic Region
K4RMN

a2capt

It's typical for some flight data to drop off within that proximity of the runway, so the computer closes the record as completed.

PHall

Quote from: stillamarine on August 14, 2013, 09:30:25 PM