New Squadron Comms Officer

Started by KC3CTT, August 14, 2018, 03:46:46 AM

KC3CTT

I joined almost a year ago as a Cadet Sponsor member and in June upgraded to full member in order to assist with MedOps during Encampment, (I'm a nurse and formerly an EMT). Shortly after Encampment my Squadron Commander designated me as Comms Officer and I couldn't be happier about it, (I'm also an Amateur Radio Operator).

I completed ICUT through OP2, got signed off and then completed my T10 and received a CAP Call Sign. A mobile rig was setup at home to function as a base station a couple of days ago in order to participate in local VHF nets.

While reading a recent post about an ELT beacon being monitored by a CAP pilot there was mention of monitoring CAPGUARD which is a practice that will now be adopted.

Are there any other suggestions/recommendations for daily operation?

The Comms Officer Specialty Track packet has been downloaded and I will be pursuing my Technician rating. Obtaining my MRO is certainly a goal as is participating in SAREX's and other E.S. activities.

Any constructive input on how to proceed would be greatly appreciated.

Sent from my LGMP260 using Tapatalk

arajca

As a Communications Officer, you can administer the ICUT practical test. Familiarize yourself with the ICUT test materials on the Communications Library. You'll find the link to the Communications page at the bottom of the Eservices page.

Keep track of your unit's comm gear, especially the ISRs.

Talk with your group and/or wing DC to see what procedures they have in place. If you can be available on a regular basis, consider becoming a Net Control Station after becoming familiar with how your nets operate.

If you have excess equipment, let your wing DC know. They may have a need for it at other units.

EFJ mobiles with serial numbers starting with 5317MD are not capable of doing encrypted communications, but they can do digital.

BoxGranch