Question about placing a Civil Air Patrol on the resume

Started by Wrightiir, July 31, 2016, 03:11:01 PM

Wrightiir

Hello I am just curious as to how I would have a professional resume writer understand that Civil Air Patrol experience is leadership experience especially if you have the Spaatz. I left a military approximately 10 years ago after about 4 years of service. Now I am working or trying to find something in the civilian sector and I have been trying to do that for about 10 years at least to match my education which is in the management supervision field. But since I have only had four years of military experience employers are scoffing at me when I mention that Civil Air Patrol experience is leadership experience also. I've had 20 years of said experience and then I retired from the program in 2010 as a major. Now am I right to be a little angry that these professional resume writers don't consider my experience in Civil Air Patrol as leadership? I have the education but apparently not the experience when it comes to leadership according to interviewers that I have had in the past. So I'm not even sure if I can put this on my resume. However that is where I got most of my training for leadership and my leadership experience itself from. I'm not entirely sure how to proceed to get these people to understand that my experience and Civil Air Patrol constitutes as leadership experience, or maybe I'm just wrongly thinking that I can put it down as real-world experience. Oh and I've already tried writing the resume myself for the last 10 years it's just the last couple years that I thought maybe I could get somewhere paying for my resume to be done but apparently that had no affect either.

dwb

The last time I made a resume, I listed CAP under "Volunteer Experience". I described my duties at the time in terms that a non-CAP person would understand.