Main Menu

Aircraft tires

Started by Donald, December 14, 2007, 01:52:19 AM

Donald

I was a pilot in Greenland in 1958-59. The planes were equipped with tires which had metal wire extended in the tread so they could get a hold of the runway with ice on it which was 10 months a year. CAP aircraft have tires which are made for dry runways and can have the problem of running off the runway on landing or take off. I would like to suggest that all aircraft which are assigned to CAP squadrons in areas which have snow and ice to switch to the above metal wire extruded type of tire for safety. Planes are expensive and pilots are not replaceable if they get killed on a mission where there is a possibility of ice on the runway.

mikeylikey

^ That is a good suggestion, but would that not damage runways?  I mean, I would be all for the safety factor, but I would assume there are guidelines restricting such practice, or else commercial airports would not spend so much on ice removal during winter months. 

I could only imagine Alaska to be the only state that ould permit such a practice. 

Heck, I can't even put snow tires on for 7 more days.  And we have had like 3 days of Ice storms.
What's up monkeys?

Eclipse

And if not runways, certainly the shiny painted floors of a lot of hangers - that's a quick way to lose a coveted free space.

Also, for the majority of the country, weather / landing conditions which would benefit from such tires would probably exceed most ORM tolerances and preclude flying anyway.

"That Others May Zoom"

SarDragon

Not to mention the added cost of those tires. Our budgets are tight enough as it is, without adding higher cost parts of marginal value.
Dave Bowles
Maj, CAP
AT1, USN Retired
50 Year Member
Mitchell Award (unnumbered)
C/WO, CAP, Ret

Donald