Main Menu

How to get a promotion?

Started by SuperCAP, September 15, 2013, 07:06:55 PM

SuperCAP

I'm new to CAP (about 4 months or so).  I've completed lvl1 and I'm working on lvl2.  I'm just wondering how I go about the process of promoting my rank above Senior Member?  Somebody mentioned that if you have your pilots license then that can help you get promoted as well.  I'm a CFI/CFII and ATP pilot with about 5,000 hrs.  Who do I contact to start working on a promotion?  Thanks!

cm42

Your local professional development officer should be able to assist. You should also consult the regulation (CAPR 35-5).

AlphaSigOU

Since you're new to CAP. you get a free pass here before others scream "RTFM!!!"

Completion of Level I and six months time in grade and at least age 21 makes you eligible for duty performance promotion to 2d Lt.

For a mission skills-related promotion, read CAP Regulation 35-5. Be aware that you are expected to contribute those skills to CAP and to continue your professional development. Your squadron's professional development officer should help you get squared away in preparing the paperwork to be submitted for approval through channels. Promotion to an advanced grade is not automatic.
Lt Col Charles E. (Chuck) Corway, CAP
Gill Robb Wilson Award (#2901 - 2011)
Amelia Earhart Award (#1257 - 1982) - C/Major (retired)
Billy Mitchell Award (#2375 - 1981)
Administrative/Personnel/Professional Development Officer
Nellis Composite Squadron (PCR-NV-069)
KJ6GHO - NAR 45040

Critical AOA

Having your CFI/CFII or ATP after achieving Level 1 qualifies you to be promoted to Captain with command approval.  If you plan to contribute your CFI skills, this should be easily approved. 
"I learned long ago, never to wrestle with a pig. You get dirty, and besides, the pig likes it."   - George Bernard Shaw

SunDog

Cool!