Hurricane Irene

Started by Smoothice, August 24, 2011, 08:25:53 PM

Smoothice

It's getting pretty busy around here in the North East! Lot's of emails floating around...real official looking stuff!

It's not supposed to be up here until probably Sunday night.

This is my first time in 2 years of CAP that I have actually been "on alert".

I wonder what we will be tasked to do (if anything)

All I know is, tonight I am going through my 24-hour pack!

Not something to be taken lightly, but it's kind of excting!

Oh yeah...what does "ROCON" mean? As in ROCON operations....

1LtNurseOfficer

Quote from: Smoothice on August 24, 2011, 08:25:53 PM
All I know is, tonight I am going through my 24-hour pack!
I'd suggest your 72-hr pack as well. 

Don't forget to strap down your house.  We that live in Oz already have enough houses   ;D ;D

Майор Хаткевич

What was the context that ROCON was used in?

Eclipse

"That Others May Zoom"

RADIOMAN015

Well typically wings on the coast will be evacuating their aircraft to more inland facilities.  Our wing is the direct air support for the state Emergency Management Agency, so will be in the command & control bunker starting on Thursday.  I'd assume that we will put initiate an alert and typical radio confidence checks will be conducted, etc.

Hopefully the entire storm will go out to sea and everyone will be wrong, but right now even southern New England will be affected.
RM

RRLE

Hurricane Irene is starting to look a lot like the Long Island Express aka Great Hurricane of 1938, aka New England Hurricane of 1938 etc.

Eclipse

"That Others May Zoom"

SarDragon

A friend in the area was comparing the projected path to Donna in '60. They seem to be similar, with Irene hanging more off the coast around North Florida.

Irene:

Donna:
Dave Bowles
Maj, CAP
AT1, USN Retired
50 Year Member
Mitchell Award (unnumbered)
C/WO, CAP, Ret

Capination

Quote from: RADIOMAN015 on August 24, 2011, 10:05:41 PM