Technician Level as Health Service Officer

Started by veltr001, March 03, 2023, 06:47:58 PM

veltr001

Hi,

I'm trying to find out how I get my technician rating as HSO. I'm the HSO for my squadron.  I have my PhD in Immunology and was a ENT surgical 1st assist in the USAF.  Any assistance would be appreciated.

wacapgh

I can't find a specialty track for HSO, or a corresponding badge (like Comm, Personnel, Safety, etc.).

There are insignia for EMT-Basic, EMT-Intermediate, and Paramedic but they are linked to your professional qualifications.

CAPR 160-1(I) "Operation of the CAP Health Service Program" is the reg. It refers to 35-5:

5.3.3. Health Service Personnel.
  Upon successful completion of Level I and Part 1 of Level II, unit commanders may initiate a CAPF 2 on health service personnel recommending appointment to an appropriate grade, as outlined below. The member's qualifications will be evaluated by the wing health service program officer, who will provide his or her comments and recommendations to the wing commander prior to approval. (Specific qualifications for medical personnel are outlined in CAPR 160-1.)

PHall

An HSO Specialty Track was promised a couple of years ago but nothing has come of it so far.

etodd

Quote from: PHall on March 04, 2023, 05:02:21 AMAn HSO Specialty Track was promised a couple of years ago but nothing has come of it so far.

Is there a demonstrable need? How many recorded medical events were not properly taking care of by a trip to a Doc in the box, or call parents/spouse, or 911?
"Don't try to explain it, just bow your head
Breathe in, breathe out, move on ..."

LSThiker

Quote from: veltr001 on March 03, 2023, 06:47:58 PMHi,

I'm trying to find out how I get my technician rating as HSO. I'm the HSO for my squadron.  I have my PhD in Immunology and was a ENT surgical 1st assist in the USAF.  Any assistance would be appreciated.