Encampment First Sergeant

Started by Lee1432, November 22, 2012, 09:43:53 PM

Lee1432

I am fairly new to Civil Air Patrol, ( only ranking a C/SrA ) and I finished my first encampment as a basic this passed summer. I would like to be a first sergeant summer encampment or fall CTW next year. I talked to some people and they told me first sergeants needed flight sergeant training. If i become a flight sergeant next CTW, do you think I would have a shot at first sergeant summer encampment. If not, what would I need to do to make my staff application and resume look better?

Garibaldi

Well you have an entire year in which to progress through the ranks and positions. Give it your best shot at your home unit and build your resume. By that I mean show some initiative, act a little mature, show you're serious about CAP and the program. Ask questions of your NCOs and don't ever be afraid to let your intentions be known. If you want to be first sergeant, let someone know and they will help you along. Do as much as your schedule allows you to do, which is part of your oath: "participate actively in unit activities". But don't expect it to be handed to you. You have to work for it.
Still a major after all these years.
ES dude, leadership ossifer, publik affaires
Opinionated and wrong 99% of the time about all things

Brad

Anyone can theoretically do anything. Without listing your leadership experience, training, mannerisms / character, etc., we can't really offer you a straight answer. As the Major said though, the more you put in the more you will get out.

And no, you can't go straight from basic encampment to staff. You have to go through a "transition" encampment year where you are taught how to be a staff member. It's usually called STF (Staff Training Flight) or something similar.
Brad Lee
Maj, CAP
Assistant Deputy Chief of Staff, Communications
Mid-Atlantic Region
K4RMN

Dad2-4

Quote from: Brad on November 22, 2012, 10:57:54 PM