Specialty Waiver for Promotion

Started by stimpy4242, August 22, 2009, 06:18:14 PM

stimpy4242

I want to see if anyone else has experience with this process.  Specifically educational and professional background experience, NOT MILITARY experience.

I have attended over 300 hours of national curriculum classes for the fire department, many of which are accredited for post graduate credits.  I also have a MS degree as well as a doctoral student.  I am an advanced practice paramedic as well as a private pilot.  I just attended SLS and sat thinking that it was SO BASIC and this is something I did in the fire department 10 years ago.  Since then I have taken Fire Officer Courses up to levels of managing entire fire departments.

I am seeking the rank of Capt.  Given my ability to provide transcripts and documentation for all the above does this seem reasonable or difficult to achieve?
SM Philip DePalo, M.S., NREMTP
phil@philipdepalo.com
http://www.swordshow.com

arajca

Paramedic and/or Private Pilot will get you 2d Lt. FD classes don't get you anything. Depending on what your degree is in, you MAY get something, but not Capt.

Medical Doctor will get Capt. CFII/ATP will get Capt. Fire Officer will get SM.

If your commander feels you are truly exceptional and are greatly contributing to CAP's missions, you may apply for a promotion waiver. That process can take a while (I've heard up to a year).

stimpy4242