Main Menu

Online Masters Degree

Started by James Shaw, May 27, 2008, 06:52:17 PM

James Shaw

How applicable would the online masters through the Air University really be unless you are in the reserves or active duty military. What would the equivelent be for the civilian world. I have been researching Master's programs and like the idea of it being free but is it really useable?
Jim Shaw
USN: 1987-1992
GANG: 1996-1998
CAP:2000 - SER-SO
USCGA:2019 - BC-TDI/National Safety Team
SGAUS: 2017 - MEMS Academy State Director (Iowa)

mikeylikey

YES!  Free MastersDegree offered by AU is a huge benefit for CAP Officers of the Major or higher category.  I think you missed the window by about 1 month, but get your name on the list!  I signed up, as "Officer from another Service". 

This is a real accredited degree.  If only to say "I have a Masters Degree".  It is an achievement that less than 16 percent of our fellow citizens undertake (US DEPT of EDUCATION). 

Plus, if you are taking the DL course for CAP/PME credit, you might as well see if you can get into the Masters Program! 

I am not sure how you are set on job or anything, but people with Masters Degrees do get more Cash than their Bachelor Degree counterparts. 

Plus, just think of what your Masters Degree will be in.  It will accentuate a resume, and stand out more than say an MBA.  (But it does depend on your career field, I suppose).

Finally, a Masters is a Masters.  It is just as relevant to have this one for a civilian as it would be for AD. 
What's up monkeys?

JohnKachenmeister

Quote from: mikeylikey on May 27, 2008, 07:06:47 PM
YES!  Free MastersDegree offered by AU is a huge benefit for CAP Officers of the Major or higher category.  I think you missed the window by about 1 month, but get your name on the list!  I signed up, as "Officer from another Service".