Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
August 20, 2017, 03:19:05 PM
Home Help Login Register
News:

CAP Talk  |  Operations  |  Tools of the trade  |  Topic: DSL Causing Harmful Interference on CAP Frequencies
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: 1 [2]  All Print
Author Topic: DSL Causing Harmful Interference on CAP Frequencies  (Read 1681 times)
PHall
Salty & Seasoned Contributor

Posts: 5,761

« Reply #20 on: December 21, 2016, 09:57:03 PM »

DSL?  It's 2016.

Some people only have access to DSL Bob. Heck I have areas here in Southern California that can't even get DSL.
It's Dial-Up or nuthin'.
Logged
Eclipse
Too Much Free Time Award
***
Posts: 27,684

« Reply #21 on: December 22, 2016, 01:08:50 AM »

Then those people should pack up the cows and move to where the FSM intended
for human beings to live.

I was on wireless broadband (municipal-level system similar to, but faster at the time,
then mobile cellular) until about 2 years ago, specifically so I wouldn't have to deal with
the telco or Comcast.  Sadly Sprint bought the network and shut it down, so Comcast became
the lessor of two evils.

I have no idea how anyone with even normal internet needs, let alone work needs,
could use dial-up these days.
Logged

"Effort" does not equal "results".
The contents of this post are Copyright 2017 by eclipse. All rights are reserved. Specific permission is given to quote this post here on CAP-Talk only.

wuzafuzz
Salty & Seasoned Contributor

Posts: 1,160

TVCS Website
« Reply #22 on: December 22, 2016, 07:02:01 AM »

Problem resolved!  DSL service is no more.  Cable Internet is up and running with no interference to CAP HF or CAP VHF.  Although the new service costs more, I moved from roughly 40 Mbps to 100Mbps.  As a general purpose tech geek I'm not going to complain about that.

Before switching I had moved the DSL modem to a shielded box in my basement, which is where all my cable and phone connections enter the house.  Even with all other phone lines and Ethernet disconnected, the DSL service howled it's junk onto HF.  Bye bye.

It's really5 nice to finally have a collection of connectivity devices/services that don't throw RFI onto our VHF or HF channels.   :clap:
Logged
"You can't stop the signal, Mal."
THRAWN
Salty & Seasoned Contributor

Posts: 1,788

« Reply #23 on: December 22, 2016, 08:57:17 AM »

Then those people should pack up the cows and move to where the FSM intended
for human beings to live.

I was on wireless broadband (municipal-level system similar to, but faster at the time,
then mobile cellular) until about 2 years ago, specifically so I wouldn't have to deal with
the telco or Comcast.  Sadly Sprint bought the network and shut it down, so Comcast became
the lessor of two evils.

I have no idea how anyone with even normal internet needs, let alone work needs,
could use dial-up these days.


First world problems....
Logged
Strup
"Belligerent....at times...."
AFRCC SMC 10-97
NSS ISC 05-00
USAF SOS 2000
USAF ACSC 2011
US NWC 2016
Eclipse
Too Much Free Time Award
***
Posts: 27,684

« Reply #24 on: December 22, 2016, 09:08:23 AM »

...Cable Internet is up and running...

Not to be missed here - new cable service installed and working in what, three days?  A Festive Miracle!

I have no idea how anyone with even normal internet needs, let alone work needs,
could use dial-up these days.


First world problems....

Agreed - thankfully that is still where I live, though the US isn't even in the top 10
countries in terms of average or peak internet speeds as of 2015.
Logged

"Effort" does not equal "results".
The contents of this post are Copyright 2017 by eclipse. All rights are reserved. Specific permission is given to quote this post here on CAP-Talk only.

THRAWN
Salty & Seasoned Contributor

Posts: 1,788

« Reply #25 on: December 22, 2016, 09:11:32 AM »

...Cable Internet is up and running...

Not to be missed here - new cable service installed and working in what, three days?  A Festive Miracle!

I have no idea how anyone with even normal internet needs, let alone work needs,
could use dial-up these days.


First world problems....

Agreed - thankfully that is still where I live, though the US isn't even in the top 10
countries in terms of average or peak internet speeds as of 2015.


It's a sad state of affairs when the US isn't in the top 10 of everything. So continues the slide into Idiocracy...
Logged
Strup
"Belligerent....at times...."
AFRCC SMC 10-97
NSS ISC 05-00
USAF SOS 2000
USAF ACSC 2011
US NWC 2016
wuzafuzz
Salty & Seasoned Contributor

Posts: 1,160

TVCS Website
« Reply #26 on: December 24, 2016, 07:23:01 AM »

...Cable Internet is up and running...

Not to be missed here - new cable service installed and working in what, three days?  A Festive Miracle!

Definitely a pleasant surprise.  The change triggered some minor downstream projects with my home network, but that stuff is fun.   ;D
Logged
"You can't stop the signal, Mal."
Briank
Member

Posts: 52
Unit: GLR-OH-064

« Reply #27 on: December 25, 2016, 08:35:52 AM »

I have no idea how anyone with even normal internet needs, let alone work needs,
could use dial-up these days.

Fortunately in my area, DSL is cheaper than dial-up now.  :-)  $23/mo DSL + $5/mo UNE charge vs. $20/mo line charge + $10/mo dialtone charge + $10/mo dialup service.  :-)

The high speeds don't gain as much as you'd think, so perhaps dialup still is viable for basic surfing/e-mail?  My DSL is only 1.0 Mbps, but I have no trouble streaming video.  Not in HD of course, but I don't have HD screens either.

Back on topic, it's really surprising to hear about DSL causing RFI issues.  I can't recall ever hearing that before.  I always hear about cable causing the RFI problems.
Logged
PHall
Salty & Seasoned Contributor

Posts: 5,761

« Reply #28 on: December 25, 2016, 12:16:47 PM »

...Cable Internet is up and running...

Not to be missed here - new cable service installed and working in what, three days?  A Festive Miracle!

I have no idea how anyone with even normal internet needs, let alone work needs,
could use dial-up these days.


First world problems....

Agreed - thankfully that is still where I live, though the US isn't even in the top 10
countries in terms of average or peak internet speeds as of 2015.


It's a sad state of affairs when the US isn't in the top 10 of everything. So continues the slide into Idiocracy...

Yeah, take a look at the size of the countries that have better internet speeds. They're all a lot smaller then us.
Our problem is that we're so big. And as long as we're using land based methods (copper cable and fiber optic cable) it's going to be a problem.
Logged
Mordecai
Salty & Seasoned Contributor

Posts: 1,015
Unit: SI

« Reply #29 on: December 27, 2016, 06:41:46 PM »

...Cable Internet is up and running...

Not to be missed here - new cable service installed and working in what, three days?  A Festive Miracle!

I have no idea how anyone with even normal internet needs, let alone work needs,
could use dial-up these days.


First world problems....

Agreed - thankfully that is still where I live, though the US isn't even in the top 10
countries in terms of average or peak internet speeds as of 2015.


It's a sad state of affairs when the US isn't in the top 10 of everything. So continues the slide into Idiocracy...

Yeah, take a look at the size of the countries that have better internet speeds. They're all a lot smaller then us.
Our problem is that we're so big. And as long as we're using land based methods (copper cable and fiber optic cable) it's going to be a problem.

Yup, between population size and population density, we have a series of obstacles that pretty much mean that with the exception of Russia, China, and India, everyone will have an easier time getting broadband to all than we will.

With that being said, wireless broadband is making serious headway in rural zones.
Logged
PHall
Salty & Seasoned Contributor

Posts: 5,761

« Reply #30 on: December 27, 2016, 08:11:50 PM »

...Cable Internet is up and running...

Not to be missed here - new cable service installed and working in what, three days?  A Festive Miracle!

I have no idea how anyone with even normal internet needs, let alone work needs,
could use dial-up these days.


First world problems....

Agreed - thankfully that is still where I live, though the US isn't even in the top 10
countries in terms of average or peak internet speeds as of 2015.


It's a sad state of affairs when the US isn't in the top 10 of everything. So continues the slide into Idiocracy...

Yeah, take a look at the size of the countries that have better internet speeds. They're all a lot smaller then us.
Our problem is that we're so big. And as long as we're using land based methods (copper cable and fiber optic cable) it's going to be a problem.

Yup, between population size and population density, we have a series of obstacles that pretty much mean that with the exception of Russia, China, and India, everyone will have an easier time getting broadband to all than we will.

With that being said, wireless broadband is making serious headway in rural zones.

Just one of the reasons AT&T brought Direct TV. But the speeds offered on Wireless is still much slower then wireline broadband.
But, the technology is changing at a fairly rapid rate. So who knows what will be offered in a year or even 6 months.
Logged
Luis R. Ramos
Salty & Seasoned Contributor

Posts: 2,456

« Reply #31 on: December 27, 2016, 11:06:44 PM »

Quote
By PH:

Just one of the reasons AT&T brought bought (FTFY) Direct TV. But the speeds offered on Wireless is still much slower then wireline broadband.
But, the technology is changing at a fairly rapid rate. So who knows what will be offered in a year or even 6 months.

Logged

Squadron Administrative Officer
Squadron Communication Officer
Squadron Emergency Services Officer
Pages: 1 [2]  All Print 
CAP Talk  |  Operations  |  Tools of the trade  |  Topic: DSL Causing Harmful Interference on CAP Frequencies
 


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP SMF 2.0.13 | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.373 seconds with 20 queries.