Main Menu

Help with background check

Started by Vito0321, December 16, 2016, 07:40:05 AM

Vito0321

Hello everyone, I'm new here, but I thought this would be a good place to seek help and knowledge. 

I was dating a girl that owned an ar 15 and one day I came home from class and DOJ officers were in my girls place and when I came in they told me to sit and then arrested me and her for possession of an assault rifle ( California made ar15) they found a bottom magnet which supposedly turned it into an assault rifle.  Now the DA is offering me to plea guilty with one year of probation and then expunged it after the one year.  I'm 30 years old and never be arrested and I don't even know anything about weapon or their laws, and I'm getting my bs is aviation and flight training at San Jose state university. 

Now my question is what are my chance passing FAA and TSA and starting with regional.
I'm a flight student that was born to fly and I have very good moral character my whole life till i ran into this girl.   Please let me what u think of my chances and any advise ..thank you

abdsp51

Al Sayre

I would contact your local NRA Chapter or the Second Amendment Foundation and ask for an attorney referral.  You need a good attorney who is familiar with the gun laws in your state, not some guy from the phone book.  NRA or SAF may even help defray the costs depending on the facts of the case.
Lt Col Al Sayre
MS Wing Staff Dude
Admiral, Great Navy of the State of Nebraska
GRW #2787

kwe1009

Story sounds strange but it is California so...

First, you have the right to remain silent.  Use that right.  Don't say anything else to anyone else about this, not even family or friends. 

Second, talk to a lawyer.

THRAWN

My Spideysense is tingling. Lots of missing info here. Follow the get a lawyer advice. All you're going to get here are a lot of guesses, barracks lawyering, and "what ifs". Every case is different.
Strup-"Belligerent....at times...."
AFRCC SMC 10-97
NSS ISC 05-00