Spaatz Exam Mile Run

Started by Sergeant, October 20, 2016, 01:17:39 AM

Sergeant

Hello everyone!

I am currently studying for my Spaatz Exam, and I have already recognized my most challenging area: the mile run.

I can pass the rest of the PT portion with some breathing room. I am devoting 12-15 hours a week just studying for the Leadership test alone. Aerospace is always my best section, although I am still going to study just to be safe. And, writing is one of my best subjects in school, so the essay should be a piece of cake for me.

However, I keep struggling with the mile run. This has always been the hardest part of CAP for me because I am a terrible long-distance runner no matter how much I practice. I am running the mile every day right now, but I feel like I keep hitting a 7-minute wall. The very best time I ever got was a 6:28 when I was going for Major (which would still be failing for the Spaatz). I got that time under the most favorable conditions possible: very dry air, months of practice, hydrating a lot throughout the day, drinking several cups of coffee right before the meeting, and then by pushing it as hard as I possibly could without collapsing (I really wanted that promotion badly).

I could have passed the shuttle, but they got rid of that a year ago. To make matters worse, my Spaatz Exam is now in only a month. Does anyone have any suggestions for how I could shave a minute off my mile time in a month? Any help would be very greatly appreciated.

coudano

go run sprints 2 days a week
up a hill if you can.

run up the hill. walk down.
run up the hill.  walk down.

do a good dozen of those 2 days a week for a few weeks

do some lighter longer runs and add a rest day in between

take a day or even two off before you pace yourself for a test run and before the actual test

get a good dinner and plenty of rest the night before the test.